The Business of Sustainability

“I always make the business case for sustainability. It’s so compelling. Our costs are down, not up. Our products are the best they have ever been. Our people are motivated by a shared higher purpose — esprit de corps to die for. And the goodwill in the marketplace — it’s just been astonishing.” – Ray Anderson (TED2009)

I am not a tree-hugger.  I just like looking at trees.  So when I finally had some money to invest, I invested in renewable energy and in companies that are practicing sustainable business.  The market is still small, but growing hugely, so the profits are there for the taking.  But its volatile.  Just as any burgeoning industry will be.  With that in mind, I’d like to put to good use some of the knowledge I have been obsessively hoarding over the last few years and grow a little community of like-minds here on the Green Bull.

I live in Washington DC and I work in account management and consulting.  I specialize in Operations.  I am starting this blog in 2013 because we’ve had a bumper year in solar and I’m convinced its the start of a longer (torturous) road to world domination.

So that’s the who, when and what of this blog.  But why?  Because making a business sustainable usually means making it lean…and profitable.  Because there is so much money to be made in this growing Renewables industry.  Because its a joy to succeed by investing in other’s success.  And when those others, be they individual investors or great companies, are succeeding because they are making your world a better place to live in well… that’s a great thing.

Let’s get started.

3 thoughts on “The Business of Sustainability

Leave a Reply

